Best AI journaling apps 2026

The best AI journaling apps in 2026, compared honestly.

The best AI journaling app for most people who want an AI to talk back is Rosebud; for a lifelong record it's Day One; for the best free plan it's Reflection; and for turning what you say into tasks and habits it's Ripple. Below are 11 apps with real prices, features and who each one suits.

Every price and feature was checked on each company's own site or app store listing on October 21, 2026.

Disclosure

We make Ripple, and it’s on this list. Here’s how we compared: we only used facts from each app’s own website, pricing page or app store listing, linked below; we wrote “not stated” where we couldn’t confirm something; and we didn’t put Ripple first. It’s best for one job, and we say what it lacks.

Quick picks

The short answer

If you only read one table, read this one.

Quick picks: best AI journaling apps by use
AppBest forPriceFree tier
RosebudBest AI that talks back and remembers$12.99/month or $107.99/yearNo (retired Sep 30, 2026)
Day OneBest journal to keep for life$49.99 Silver / $74.99 Gold per yearYes (Basic)
RippleBest for turning what you say into tasks and habits$9.99/month or $89.99/yearNo (7-day free trial)
MindseraBest for structured thinking$14.99/month or $129/yearYes (Curious plan)
ReflectionBest value AI coach$8/month or $69/yearYes (Free Forever plan)
DayoraBest free AI journal, if the terms suit you$9/month or $72/yearYes (free core)
StoicBest for structured daily routinesSee app store (tiers not labelled)Free download; paid tiers
Apple JournalBest free option on iPhoneFree with iOSBuilt in
DaylioBest for logging mood without writingSee app store (tiers not labelled)Yes (Premium extra)
FinchBest gentle, game-like self-careSee app store (tiers not labelled)Yes (Finch Plus extra)
ReflectlyBest for guided first stepsSee app store (tiers not labelled)Free download; Premium extra
Method

How we compared

We looked at what someone carrying a lot actually needs from a journal app, then checked each app against the same list. Every fact comes from the company’s own homepage, pricing page or App Store listing on October 21, 2026. Where a page didn’t say, we wrote “not stated” rather than guess, which can make a newer or less-documented app look thinner than it is.

  • Getting it in: typing, voice, photos. Talking is easier for many people than writing, which is why we track it (more in our voice journaling guide).
  • What the AI does: chat that talks back, summaries, prompts, mood and patterns.
  • Follow-through: does it turn entries into to-dos, and does it track habits? See our habit tracker app page for why we care about this.
  • Cost: free tier, monthly and yearly price.
  • Privacy: what each company says, in its own words. We can’t audit anyone’s claims, including our own.

The order is our judgement of how well each app works as an AI journal for most people, not a score. We didn’t test private features behind paywalls we couldn’t see.

The list

11 AI journaling apps, ranked

Each entry covers what it does, what it costs and where it falls short.

01

Rosebud

Best AI that talks back and remembers

Rosebud is one of the best-known AI journals. You write or talk, and it asks follow-up questions, offers guided prompts (including IFS-based ones), spots patterns and writes weekly reports. Its long-term memory carries what you said across entries, so it can bring up something from last month.

The catch is price. Rosebud's help center says the free plan was retired on September 30, 2026; the Bloom plan is $12.99 a month or $107.99 a year. Its homepage still says “free to use”, so check the app. On privacy, Rosebud states entries are encrypted in transit and at rest and never used to train AI.

Price: $12.99/month or $107.99/yearFree tier: No (retired Sep 30, 2026)Platforms: iOS, Android, Web4.9 on the App Store
Good at
  • AI that asks follow-up questions and remembers what you said weeks ago
  • Voice journaling with transcription
  • Clear privacy statements, including not training AI on entries
  • Large, well-reviewed user base
Watch out for
  • Free plan retired on September 30, 2026, per its help center
  • $12.99 a month is at the higher end
  • Built around conversation and reflection more than tasks and dates
Ripple vs Rosebud: full comparison
02

Day One

Best journal to keep for life

Day One is the most established journal on this list: photos, video, audio and drawings in entries, apps on iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, Android, Mac, Windows and web, and end-to-end encryption even on the free Basic plan.

Its AI features (Daily Chat, summaries and deeper prompts) sit on the Gold plan at $74.99 a year; Silver is $49.99 a year. Day One is brilliant at keeping a record. It isn't built to turn entries into tasks or track habits beyond journaling streaks.

Price: $49.99 Silver / $74.99 Gold per yearFree tier: Yes (Basic)Platforms: iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, Android, Mac, Windows, Web4.8 on the App Store
Good at
  • End-to-end encryption, even on the free plan
  • Photos, video, audio and drawings in entries
  • Apps on nearly every device, including Windows and Apple Watch
  • A long track record and a very large number of reviews
Watch out for
  • AI features sit on the $74.99 Gold plan
  • A place to keep entries, not a system that acts on them
Ripple vs Day One: full comparison
03

Ripple

Best for turning what you say into tasks and habits

Ripple is our app, so judge this entry with that in mind. It's an AI life optimizer: a habit tracker, voice journal and insight tool. You talk or type whenever something's on your mind, and it turns what you said into a to-do list with the dates you mentioned, checks off habits you mention and notices the ones you skip, tracks mood over time, surfaces patterns, scores your life areas in the Life Matrix and sends a weekly report every Sunday.

It's on iOS, Android and the web, and costs $9.99 a month or $89.99 a year after a 7-day free trial. Honest limits: it's newer and smaller than the big names, there's no free tier, no chat companion, no photo journaling and one plan only. It doesn't make encryption claims.

Price: $9.99/month or $89.99/yearFree tier: No (7-day free trial)Platforms: iOS, Android, WebNewer app, fewer ratings so far
Good at
  • Turns a spoken or typed entry into a to-do list with the dates you mentioned
  • Checks off habits you mention and notices the ones you skip
  • Mood over time, patterns, Life Matrix and a weekly report every Sunday
  • iOS, Android and web
Watch out for
  • Newer and smaller than the big names
  • No free tier, only a 7-day trial
  • No AI chat companion that talks back
  • No photo or multimedia journaling
  • One plan, no cheaper tier
How Ripple works as an AI journal app
04

Mindsera

Best for structured thinking

Mindsera calls itself an “AI-powered journal copilot for thinking”, and it earns it: 52+ frameworks and templates, emotion analysis, personality insights, chat with your journal, voice and call modes, and scanning of paper pages.

The free Curious plan includes the journal, habit tracker and templates. Genius is $14.99 a month or $129 a year, the highest monthly price here. Mindsera states entries are encrypted and not used to train AI.

Price: $14.99/month or $129/yearFree tier: Yes (Curious plan)Platforms: iOS, Android, Web4.8 on the App Store
Good at
  • Dozens of thinking frameworks and templates
  • Emotion and personality analysis
  • A real free plan with a habit tracker
  • Voice call mode and paper-page scanning
Watch out for
  • $14.99 a month is the highest monthly price on this list
  • Built for analysing your thinking more than running your week
Ripple vs Mindsera: full comparison
05

Reflection

Best value AI coach

Reflection describes itself as “a journal that listens, and talks back.” It has an AI coach, “Ask Your Journal”, 100+ guided programs, weekly and monthly reviews, photos and handwriting scans, and apps on iPhone, Android, Mac and web.

The Free Forever plan includes unlimited entries. Premium is $8 a month or $5.75 a month billed annually, with a 7-day trial. It states AES-256 encryption at rest and no AI training on entries. We didn't find tasks or habit tracking on its pages.

Price: $8/month or $69/yearFree tier: Yes (Free Forever plan)Platforms: iOS, Android, Mac, Web4.7 on the App Store
Good at
  • Generous free plan
  • 100+ guided programs
  • Lowest paid price among the AI chat journals here
  • Mac and web apps as well as phones
Watch out for
  • No to-do list or habit tracking stated on its pages
  • Program-led, which suits some people more than others
Ripple vs Reflection: full comparison
06

Dayora

Best free AI journal, if the terms suit you

Dayora gives a lot away free: unlimited entries, a reply to every one, voice with transcription, mood tracking, editable AI memory and relationship insights. Plus is $9 a month or $72 a year.

It's unusually upfront that it may use your entries to train and improve the AI models behind it, which is how it keeps the core free. We found it described as a browser app and didn't find a native app store listing.

Price: $9/month or $72/yearFree tier: Yes (free core)Platforms: Web
Good at
  • A lot included free, including voice and mood
  • Editable AI memory
  • Relationship insights (“Your Circle”)
  • Low Plus price
Watch out for
  • Says it may use your entries to train AI models
  • We found no native iPhone or Android app listing
  • No task or habit features stated
Ripple vs Dayora: full comparison
07

Stoic

Best for structured daily routines

Stoic mixes guided morning and evening journaling with mood trends, habits, a planner, meditation and breathing. It's on iPhone, iPad, Mac, Android and web, accepts voice notes, photos and video, and says journals are stored on your devices.

Pricing is spread across tiers: the App Store lists Premium, an AI tier and a $299 lifetime option. It has a to-do list, but you fill it in yourself.

Price: See app store (tiers not labelled)Free tier: Free download; paid tiersPlatforms: iOS, Android, Mac, Web4.8 on the App Store
Good at
  • Structured morning and evening routines
  • Habits, meditation and breathing in one app
  • Planner and to-do list built in
  • Editors' Choice on the App Store
Watch out for
  • Pricing is spread across several tiers
  • You fill in the planner yourself; it isn't pulled from your entries
Ripple vs Stoic: full comparison
08

Apple Journal

Best free option on iPhone

Apple Journal is built into iPhone (iOS 17.2 and later). It suggests moments from your photos, places, music and workouts, accepts photos, video, audio and locations, and Apple says entries are end-to-end encrypted in iCloud.

It's light on AI by design: suggestions and prompts, no summaries we could confirm, no to-dos and no Android or web version.

Price: Free with iOSFree tier: Built inPlatforms: iPhone (iOS 17.2+)
Good at
  • Free and already installed
  • Suggestions from your photos, places, music and workouts
  • End-to-end encrypted in iCloud
  • Face ID lock
Watch out for
  • Apple devices only
  • No to-dos, habits or weekly summary
  • No Android or web
Ripple vs Apple Journal: full comparison
09

Daylio

Best for logging mood without writing

Daylio isn't an AI journal, but many people searching for one end up here. You log mood and activities in a couple of taps, set goals and get charts. It says it doesn't send your data to its servers.

It's free with a Premium upgrade and phone only. If you want something to read your words, it won't.

Price: See app store (tiers not labelled)Free tier: Yes (Premium extra)Platforms: iOS, Android4.8 on the App Store
Good at
  • Fastest logging on this list: a couple of taps
  • Data stays on your phone
  • Useful mood and activity charts
  • Free to start, very large user base
Watch out for
  • No AI reading your words
  • No to-do list
  • Phone only
Ripple vs Daylio: full comparison
10

Finch

Best gentle, game-like self-care

Finch turns small self-care goals into caring for a virtual pet, with journaling prompts, mood check-ins and habits. It's free with an optional Finch Plus and has one of the highest review counts of any app in the category.

We didn't find AI features stated on its own pages, and it isn't built for tasks.

Price: See app store (tiers not labelled)Free tier: Yes (Finch Plus extra)Platforms: iOS, Android4.9 on the App Store
Good at
  • Warm, low-pressure design
  • Free to use
  • Turns small self-care goals into a game
  • Huge, very positive review count
Watch out for
  • Not built to catch to-dos from what you say
  • The pet framing isn't for everyone
Ripple vs Finch: full comparison
11

Reflectly

Best for guided first steps

Reflectly asks friendly, AI-guided questions and tracks mood, with daily, weekly and monthly overviews. It's typing-first and free to download with Premium.

It's still available and updated on the App Store. It's a gentle starting point if a blank page puts you off, though we found no voice, task or habit features on its pages.

Price: See app store (tiers not labelled)Free tier: Free download; Premium extraPlatforms: iOS, Android4.6 on the App Store
Good at
  • Friendly, guided questions make starting easy
  • Simple mood tracking
  • Daily, weekly and monthly overviews
Watch out for
  • Typing-first; no voice input stated
  • No to-do or habit features stated
Ripple vs Reflectly: full comparison
Pricing

What each AI journal costs

Checked October 2026; prices change and can vary by country and store. Follow the source link for the current price.

AI journaling app prices
AppFree tierMonthlyYearlyNotesSource
RosebudNo (retired Sep 30, 2026)$12.99$107.99Bloom plan. Rosebud's help center says the free plan was retired on September 30, 2026; its homepage still says “free to use”, so check before signing up. Higher “Thrive” tiers are listed on the App Store. Student and disability discounts offered.rosebud.app
Day OneYes (Basic)Not labelled$49.99 Silver / $74.99 GoldBasic is free (1 photo per entry). Silver is $49.99 a year; Gold is $74.99 a year and adds the AI features. The App Store also lists a monthly Silver option.dayoneapp.com
RippleNo (7-day free trial)$9.99$89.99One plan. 7-day free trial; a card is collected at the start of the trial.goripple.io
MindseraYes (Curious plan)$14.99$129Free Curious plan includes the journal, habit tracker and 52+ framework templates. Genius plan is $14.99 a month or $129 a year.mindsera.com
ReflectionYes (Free Forever plan)$8$69Premium is $8 a month or $5.75 a month billed annually ($69 a year), with a 7-day free trial. The free plan includes unlimited entries.reflection.app
DayoraYes (free core)$9$72Free core includes unlimited entries, voice with transcription and mood tracking. Plus is $9 a month or $72 a year ($6 a month for people who join before November 1, 2026).dayora.ai
StoicFree download; paid tiersNot labelledNot labelledThe App Store lists Premium from $6.99 to $39.99, an AI tier from $12.99 to $99.99 and a $299 lifetime option, without labelling monthly vs yearly.apps.apple.com
Apple JournalBuilt inNot labelledNot labelledComes with iOS; Apple lists no price.apple.com
DaylioYes (Premium extra)Not labelledNot labelledFree app with a Premium upgrade. The App Store lists in-app purchases from $4.99 to $59.99 without labelling monthly vs yearly.apps.apple.com
FinchYes (Finch Plus extra)Not labelledNot labelledFree with an optional Finch Plus upgrade. The App Store lists in-app purchases from $5.99 to $69.99 without labelling monthly vs yearly.apps.apple.com
ReflectlyFree download; Premium extraNot labelledNot labelledFree with Premium. The App Store lists Premium in-app purchases from $4.99 to $59.99 without labelling monthly vs yearly.apps.apple.com

“Not labelled” means the price page or app store listing didn't say which purchase is monthly and which is yearly.

Features

Features side by side

“Partly” means the feature exists in a limited form or on a higher plan; “Not stated” means we couldn't find it on the app's own pages.

AI journaling app features
AppVoice inputTo-dos from entriesHabit trackingMoodPatternsAI chatFree tierPlatforms
RosebudYesPartlyYesNot statedYesYesNo (retired Sep 30, 2026)iOS, Android, Web
Day OneYesNot statedPartlyNot statedNot statedPartlyYes (Basic)iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, Android, Mac, Windows, Web
RippleYesYesYesYesYesNoNo (7-day free trial)iOS, Android, Web
MindseraYesNot statedYesYesYesYesYes (Curious plan)iOS, Android, Web
ReflectionYesNot statedNot statedYesYesYesYes (Free Forever plan)iOS, Android, Mac, Web
DayoraYesNot statedNot statedYesYesYesYes (free core)Web
StoicYesNoYesYesPartlyNot statedFree download; paid tiersiOS, Android, Mac, Web
Apple JournalYesNoNot statedNot statedNot statedNoBuilt iniPhone (iOS 17.2+)
DaylioYesNoYesYesYesNoYes (Premium extra)iOS, Android
FinchNot statedNot statedYesYesPartlyNot statedYes (Finch Plus extra)iOS, Android
ReflectlyNot statedNot statedNot statedYesPartlyNot statedFree download; Premium extraiOS, Android
Choosing

Which one should you pick?

You want an AI to talk to

Rosebud if memory matters and the price works. Reflection if you want a free plan or a lower price. Dayora if free matters most and you’re fine with its training terms.

You want a record for life

Day One, or Apple Journal if you only use an iPhone and want free and built in.

Your head is full of to-dos

Ripple. Talk it out and it builds your list with dates, checks off habits and writes a weekly report. That’s the one job we built it for.

You want structure

Mindsera for thinking frameworks, Stoic for daily routines with habits and meditation.

You don't want to write at all

Daylio for two-tap mood logging, or a voice-first app like Ripple if you’d rather talk.

You want gentle and playful

Finch, or Reflectly for friendly guided questions.

Worth knowing

What an AI journal can and can't do

A good AI journal takes something you’d otherwise carry in your head and does a bit of the work with it: asks a question back, writes a summary, notices that a topic keeps coming up, or, in Ripple’s case, turns it into a list and a habit log. That’s useful. It’s also limited.

None of these apps is a therapist, and none should be treated as one. If you’re struggling, talk to someone qualified. Privacy is the other thing to read carefully: some apps state end-to-end encryption, some state they won’t train AI on your entries, one states it may. Pick the terms you’re comfortable with before you pour your life into an app.

Finally, the best journal is the one you keep using. If typing has always been the wall, a voice-first app is worth trying; if you love writing, a classic journal may serve you better than any AI. Read more in our AI journal app overview.

FAQ

Best AI journaling apps: questions people ask

What is the best AI journaling app in 2026?

It depends on the job. Rosebud is a leading AI journal that talks back and remembers. Day One is best for a lifelong record. Reflection is the best value AI coach with a free plan. Ripple is best for turning what you say into tasks and habits. Mindsera is best for structured thinking.

Which AI journaling apps are free?

Mindsera, Reflection, Day One and Dayora have free plans, and Apple Journal is built into iPhone. Daylio, Finch, Stoic and Reflectly are free to download with paid upgrades. Rosebud's help center says its free plan ended on September 30, 2026. Ripple has a 7-day free trial and no free tier.

Which AI journal app turns entries into to-dos?

Ripple is built around it: it pulls tasks and the dates you mentioned out of what you said. Rosebud says action items can be added to checklists. We didn't find task extraction stated on the other apps' own pages.

Which AI journal is best for voice journaling?

Rosebud, Ripple, Mindsera, Reflection, Day One and Dayora all accept voice. Ripple is designed around talking: you talk and it turns that into tasks, habits, mood and patterns. See our voice journaling guide for how it works.

Do AI journaling apps use my entries to train AI?

It varies, so read each app's terms. Rosebud, Mindsera and Reflection state entries aren't used to train AI. Dayora states it may use entries for training. Ripple doesn't make claims it hasn't verified.

Can an AI journal replace therapy?

No. Journaling apps can help you get thoughts out of your head and notice patterns, but none of the apps here should be treated as a replacement for a therapist. Ripple doesn't claim to treat, diagnose or replace therapy.

How much do AI journaling apps cost?

Paid plans we checked range from $8 a month (Reflection) to $14.99 a month (Mindsera). Rosebud is $12.99, Dayora Plus $9 and Ripple $9.99. Yearly plans run from $49.99 (Day One Silver) to $129 (Mindsera).

If your journal should do the follow-up, try Ripple.

Talk or type whenever. Get back your to-dos, habits, mood, patterns and a weekly report. 7 days free.

Start your free week

7-day free trial · Cancel before day 7 and pay nothing