The best Day One alternative for people who want follow-through
The best Day One alternative depends on what you want your journal to do. If you want it to act on what you write or say, Ripple turns entries into to-dos, habits and a weekly report. If you want AI conversation, Rosebud or Reflection.
If you love Day One as a keepsake, you may not need to replace it at all.
We make Ripple, and it is first on this list, so weigh that. Here’s how we compared: each app’s facts come from its own website, pricing page or app store listing, checked October 21, 2026. For a straight two-way look, see Ripple vs Day One.
Why people look for a Day One alternative
AI is on the top plan
Day One's AI summaries and Daily Chat are on Gold, $74.99 a year.
It stores, it doesn't act
Day One keeps entries beautifully. It doesn't turn them into tasks or track habits beyond journaling streaks.
Typing is a wall
Some people want to talk it out and get something sorted back.
You want patterns
Mood over time and recurring themes, without reading back through years of entries.
Day One remains one of the best journals made: end-to-end encryption on the free plan, photos and video, apps on nearly every device and a huge number of reviews. As a lifelong record, nothing on this list beats it.
5 Day One alternatives worth a look
- 01
Ripple
Best for turning what you say into tasks and habitsTalk or type, and Ripple builds your to-do list with dates, checks off habits you mention, tracks mood and patterns, and sends a weekly report. No photos or encryption claims; it's for the follow-through, not the keepsake.
$9.99/month or $89.99/year · Free tier: No (7-day free trial)
Ripple vs Ripple, compared - 02
Rosebud
Best for AI conversation and memoryFollow-up questions and long-term memory. Paid only, $12.99 a month, per its help center since September 30, 2026.
$12.99/month or $107.99/year · Free tier: No (retired Sep 30, 2026)
Ripple vs Rosebud, compared - 03
Reflection
Best value AI journalFree plan, photos, handwriting scan, Mac and web apps, and Premium from $8 a month.
$8/month or $69/year · Free tier: Yes (Free Forever plan)
Ripple vs Reflection, compared - 04
Apple Journal
Best free option on iPhoneBuilt in, end-to-end encrypted in iCloud, with suggestions from your photos and places.
Free with iOS · Free tier: Built in
Ripple vs Apple Journal, compared - 05
Stoic
Best for structured routinesGuided journaling with habits, a planner and meditation, on most platforms.
See app store (tiers not labelled) · Free tier: Free download; paid tiers
Ripple vs Stoic, compared
How they line up
| App | Voice input | To-dos from entries | Habit tracking | AI chat | Free tier |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Day One | Yes: Audio recording with transcription | Not stated | Partly: Journaling streaks only | Partly: Daily Chat (Gold plan) | Yes (Basic) |
| Ripple | Yes | Yes: To-dos with the dates you mentioned | Yes: Checks off habits you mention, notices skipped ones | No: No chat companion | No (7-day free trial) |
| Rosebud | Yes | Partly: Says action items can be added to checklists | Yes: Goal tracker and AI habit suggestions | Yes: Follow-up questions on each entry | No (retired Sep 30, 2026) |
| Reflection | Yes: Voice with transcription, voice calls | Not stated | Not stated | Yes: AI coach, “Ask Your Journal” | Yes (Free Forever plan) |
| Apple Journal | Yes: Audio recordings | No | Not stated | No | Built in |
| Stoic | Yes: Voice notes | No: Has a planner and to-do list you fill in yourself | Yes: Habits, streaks and badges | Not stated | Free download; paid tiers |
Checked October 21, 2026. “Not stated” means we could not find it on the app’s own pages. Prices and features change.
What to check first
- Keep your Day One archive; you can run another app alongside it
- Decide whether you want a record, a conversation or follow-through
- If encryption is a must, check each app's own claims
- Compare total yearly cost, not just the monthly price
Want the bigger picture? Read the best AI journaling apps in 2026, or see how Ripple works as an AI journal app.
Day One alternatives: questions people ask
What's the best free Day One alternative?
Apple Journal if you use an iPhone. Reflection if you want AI features on a free plan.
Which Day One alternative has AI without the top tier?
Ripple includes its to-dos, habits, mood, patterns, Life Matrix and weekly report in one plan. Reflection and Mindsera have AI on free and paid plans.
Is Ripple a full Day One replacement?
Not for photos, video or an encrypted lifelong record. Ripple is for turning what you say into tasks, habits and patterns.
How much is Ripple?
Ripple is $9.99 a month or $89.99 a year, with a 7-day free trial. There is one plan and no free tier.
Keep your journal. Add the follow-through.
Try Ripple for 7 days alongside Day One.
Start your free week7-day free trial · Cancel before day 7 and pay nothing