Ripple vs Day One: a keepsake journal or help with the to-dos?
Day One is the best-known journal for keeping a record of your life: photos, video, audio, end-to-end encryption and apps on almost every device. Ripple isn't a keepsake; it's for getting what's in your head into a to-do list, habits and a weekly report.
If you want to look back in ten years, use Day One. If you want this week to go better, try Ripple.
We make Ripple, so read this with that in mind. We compared the two apps using Day One’s own website, pricing page and app store listing (checked October 21, 2026), and we say plainly where Day One is the better pick. Prices and features change, so check Day One’s pricing before you decide.
Day One and Ripple, feature by feature
Day One is a place to keep entries. Ripple is a system that does something with them.
| Day One | Ripple | |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | A lifelong, photo-rich journal you keep for decades | Turning what you say into tasks and habits |
| Price | $49.99 Silver / $74.99 Gold per year | $9.99/month or $89.99/year |
| Free tier | Yes (Basic) | No (7-day free trial) |
| Platforms | iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, Android, Mac, Windows, Web | iOS, Android, Web |
| Voice input | Yes: Audio recording with transcription | Yes |
| Photos in entries | Yes: Photos, video, drawings | No |
| AI chat that talks back | Partly: Daily Chat (Gold plan) | No: No chat companion |
| Summaries | Partly: AI summaries (Gold plan) | Yes: Weekly report every Sunday |
| Mood tracking | Not stated | Yes |
| Patterns | Not stated | Yes: Patterns plus Life Matrix (life areas scored over time) |
| To-dos from what you say | Not stated | Yes: To-dos with the dates you mentioned |
| Habit tracking | Partly: Journaling streaks only | Yes: Checks off habits you mention, notices skipped ones |
| Privacy, as each app states it | “End-to-end encryption”; “your entries are 100% private” (Day One's wording). | Entries are private to your account. We don't make encryption or AI-training claims we haven't verified. |
Checked October 21, 2026. Prices change. Sources: Day One, Ripple. “Not stated” means we could not find it on Day One’s own pages.
Day One wins as a journal you keep for life
End-to-end encryption
Day One offers end-to-end encryption, including on the free Basic plan. Ripple doesn't claim that.
Photos, video, audio, drawings
Rich entries you'll want to look back on. Ripple has no photo or multimedia journaling.
Every device
iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, Android, Mac, Windows and web.
Free plan and a long record
A free Basic plan, years of history and one of the largest review counts of any journal app.
Ripple wins on follow-through
Your words become a to-do list
With the dates you said. Day One's pages don't mention tasks.
Habits, not just streaks
Day One tracks journaling streaks. Ripple tracks the habits you talk about and notices when you skip them.
Insight without paying for Gold
Day One's AI summaries and Daily Chat sit on the $74.99 Gold plan. Ripple's mood, patterns, Life Matrix and weekly report are all in its one plan.
Built for talking
Day One supports audio. Ripple is designed around talking it out and getting a sorted result back.
The short version
Pick Day One if
- You want a lifelong record with photos and video
- End-to-end encryption is a must
- You use Windows or Apple Watch
- You want a free plan
Pick Ripple if
- You journal to clear your head, not to keep a scrapbook
- Tasks and dates keep slipping
- You want habits tracked from what you say
- You'd like a weekly report without paying for a top tier
Switching from Day One to Ripple
You don't need to leave Day One. Many people would keep it for memories and photos and use Ripple for the day-to-day load.
If you do move, keep your Day One archive where it is. Ripple works from your first entry, so there's nothing to import before it's useful.
Looking at more than two options? See the best Day One alternatives or our full list of the best AI journaling apps.
Ripple vs Day One: questions people ask
How much does Day One cost?
Day One Basic is free. Silver is $49.99 a year and Gold, which adds the AI features, is $74.99 a year, per Day One's pricing page.
Is Ripple cheaper than Day One?
Ripple is $9.99 a month or $89.99 a year, with a 7-day free trial. There is one plan and no free tier. Day One Silver is cheaper per year; Day One Gold is $74.99 a year.
Does Ripple have end-to-end encryption like Day One?
We don't claim end-to-end encryption for Ripple. If that is your top requirement, Day One is the safer choice.
Can I add photos in Ripple?
No. Ripple is for voice and typed entries. Day One is far better for photos and video.
Can I use Day One and Ripple together?
Yes. Day One for the record you want to keep, Ripple for the to-dos, habits and patterns in what you say.
Other apps people compare with Ripple
- Ripple vs RosebudRosebud talks back and remembers. Ripple turns what you say into tasks and habits.
- Ripple vs MindseraMindsera helps you think through ideas. Ripple keeps track of what you said you'd do.
- Ripple vs ReflectionReflection guides you with programs and a coach. Ripple organizes what you already said.
- Ripple vs DayoraDayora is free and conversational. Ripple is paid and turns talk into tasks and habits.
- Ripple vs DaylioDaylio is two-tap mood logging. Ripple reads your words for tasks, habits and the why.
- Ripple vs FinchFinch makes self-care a game. Ripple keeps track of everything you're carrying.
Keep the memories. Hand off the to-dos.
Try Ripple for 7 days next to your journal.
Start your free week7-day free trial · Cancel before day 7 and pay nothing