Ripple vs Dayora: comparing two AI journals
Dayora gives you a lot for free, including voice, mood tracking and a reply to every entry, and it's upfront that it may use your entries to train AI models. Ripple is paid, doesn't chat, and turns what you say into to-dos, habit check-offs and a weekly report.
If cost is the deciding factor and the training terms are fine with you, Dayora is worth a look. If you want tasks and habits handled, Ripple is the closer fit.
We make Ripple, so read this with that in mind. We compared the two apps using Dayora’s own website, pricing page and app store listing (checked October 21, 2026), and we say plainly where Dayora is the better pick. Prices and features change, so check Dayora’s pricing before you decide.
Dayora and Ripple, feature by feature
Dayora is a web-based AI journal that replies to you. Ripple is a phone and web app that organizes what you said.
| Dayora | Ripple | |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | A generous free AI journal, if you're fine with entries used for training | Turning what you say into tasks and habits |
| Price | $9/month or $72/year | $9.99/month or $89.99/year |
| Free tier | Yes (free core) | No (7-day free trial) |
| Platforms | Web | iOS, Android, Web |
| Voice input | Yes: Voice with transcription | Yes |
| Photos in entries | Not stated | No |
| AI chat that talks back | Yes: A reply to every entry, Reflect conversations | No: No chat companion |
| Summaries | Partly: Daily letters and reports on Plus | Yes: Weekly report every Sunday |
| Mood tracking | Yes: 5-point mood | Yes |
| Patterns | Yes: Patterns, relationship insights | Yes: Patterns plus Life Matrix (life areas scored over time) |
| To-dos from what you say | Not stated | Yes: To-dos with the dates you mentioned |
| Habit tracking | Not stated | Yes: Checks off habits you mention, notices skipped ones |
| Privacy, as each app states it | States it “may use your entries to train and improve the AI models”, and that it never sells entries (Dayora's wording). | Entries are private to your account. We don't make encryption or AI-training claims we haven't verified. |
Checked October 21, 2026. Prices change. Sources: Dayora, Ripple. “Not stated” means we could not find it on Dayora’s own pages.
Dayora wins on price and conversation
Generous free core
Unlimited entries, voice with transcription, mood tracking and full export, free. Ripple has no free tier.
A reply to every entry
Dayora writes back and holds Reflect conversations. Ripple doesn't chat.
Relationship insights
Its “Your Circle” feature looks at the people you write about. Ripple doesn't have that.
Editable AI memory
You can see and delete what Dayora remembers about you.
Ripple wins on tasks, habits and apps
To-dos with dates
Ripple turns what you said into a list with dates. Dayora's pages don't mention tasks.
Habit tracking
Mention a habit and Ripple checks it off; skip it and Ripple notices. Dayora's pages don't mention habits.
iPhone and Android apps
Ripple has native apps plus web. We found Dayora described as a browser-based app and no app store listing.
Training terms
Dayora says it may use entries to train AI models. We don't make AI-training promises for Ripple we haven't verified, so ask us if this matters to you.
The short version
Pick Dayora if
- You want a capable AI journal for free
- You want the AI to reply to what you write
- You're comfortable with its training terms
- You mostly journal in a browser
Pick Ripple if
- You want tasks and habits pulled from what you say
- You want an app on your phone
- You'd rather get a list back than a reply
- A Life Matrix and Sunday report appeal to you
Switching from Dayora to Ripple
Dayora's free core includes full export, so you can keep a copy of everything before you try something else.
Ripple's 7-day trial collects a card up front. We remind you on day 4, and you pay nothing if you cancel before day 7.
Looking at more than two options? See our full list of the best AI journaling apps.
Ripple vs Dayora: questions people ask
Is Dayora free?
Dayora has a free core with unlimited entries, voice, mood and export. Plus is $9 a month or $72 a year, with a $6 a month rate for people who join before November 1, 2026.
Does Dayora use my entries to train AI?
Dayora's own homepage and privacy policy say it may use your entries to train and improve the AI models that power it. It also says it never sells entries.
How much is Ripple?
Ripple is $9.99 a month or $89.99 a year, with a 7-day free trial. There is one plan and no free tier.
Does Ripple reply to my entries?
Not as a conversation. Ripple turns your entry into to-dos, habit check-offs, a mood reading and patterns, and writes a weekly report every Sunday.
Other apps people compare with Ripple
- Ripple vs RosebudRosebud talks back and remembers. Ripple turns what you say into tasks and habits.
- Ripple vs MindseraMindsera helps you think through ideas. Ripple keeps track of what you said you'd do.
- Ripple vs ReflectionReflection guides you with programs and a coach. Ripple organizes what you already said.
- Ripple vs Day OneDay One keeps a beautiful record of your life. Ripple acts on what you said this week.
- Ripple vs DaylioDaylio is two-tap mood logging. Ripple reads your words for tasks, habits and the why.
- Ripple vs FinchFinch makes self-care a game. Ripple keeps track of everything you're carrying.
Talk it out. Get a plan back.
Try Ripple for 7 days on your phone or the web.
Start your free week7-day free trial · Cancel before day 7 and pay nothing