Ripple vs Rosebud

Ripple vs Rosebud: which AI journal fits you?

Pick Rosebud if you want an AI that asks you follow-up questions and remembers what you told it weeks ago. Pick Ripple if you want what you say turned into a to-do list with dates, habit check-offs and a weekly report, without a conversation.

Both take voice, both cost money now that Rosebud's help center says its free plan ended on September 30, 2026, and they solve different problems.

Disclosure

We make Ripple, so read this with that in mind. We compared the two apps using Rosebud’s own website, pricing page and app store listing (checked October 21, 2026), and we say plainly where Rosebud is the better pick. Prices and features change, so check Rosebud’s pricing before you decide.

Side by side

Rosebud and Ripple, feature by feature

Rosebud and Ripple both accept voice and both look for patterns. The difference is what happens after you finish talking: Rosebud starts a conversation, Ripple files the follow-up.

Ripple vs Rosebud comparison
RosebudRipple
Best forAn AI journal that asks follow-up questions and remembers your past entriesTurning what you say into tasks and habits
Price$12.99/month or $107.99/year$9.99/month or $89.99/year
Free tierNo (retired Sep 30, 2026)No (7-day free trial)
PlatformsiOS, Android, WebiOS, Android, Web
Voice inputYesYes
Photos in entriesNot statedNo
AI chat that talks backYes: Follow-up questions on each entryNo: No chat companion
SummariesYes: Weekly reportsYes: Weekly report every Sunday
Mood trackingNot statedYes
PatternsYes: Patterns plus long-term memoryYes: Patterns plus Life Matrix (life areas scored over time)
To-dos from what you sayPartly: Says action items can be added to checklistsYes: To-dos with the dates you mentioned
Habit trackingYes: Goal tracker and AI habit suggestionsYes: Checks off habits you mention, notices skipped ones
Privacy, as each app states it“Encrypted in transit and at rest”, “never sold, never used to train AI”, “HIPAA-aligned by design” (Rosebud's wording).Entries are private to your account. We don't make encryption or AI-training claims we haven't verified.

Checked October 21, 2026. Prices change. Sources: Rosebud, Ripple. “Not stated” means we could not find it on Rosebud’s own pages.

Where Rosebud wins

Rosebud is the better pick for reflection with an AI

It talks back

Rosebud asks follow-up questions on each entry and offers guided prompts, including IFS-based ones. If you want something closer to a reflective conversation, Ripple does not do that.

Long-term memory

Rosebud highlights a memory system that carries what you said across entries. It is the main reason it gives for retiring the free plan.

Privacy statements in writing

Rosebud says entries are encrypted in transit and at rest and are never used to train AI. Ripple doesn't make those claims yet.

Track record

Rosebud shows a 4.9 rating from thousands of App Store reviews. Ripple is newer and much smaller.

Where Ripple wins

Ripple is the better pick when you need follow-through

Tasks with dates, pulled out for you

Say “call the dentist before Friday” and it lands on your list with Friday attached. Rosebud says action items can go on checklists; Ripple is built around that step.

Habits checked off from what you said

Mention your walk and it's checked off. Skip it for a few days and Ripple notices. You don't keep a separate tracker.

Life Matrix and a Sunday report

Ripple scores your life areas over time and writes up what moved, what slipped and what keeps coming up, every Sunday.

Lower price

$9.99 a month against Rosebud's $12.99, or $89.99 a year against $107.99.

Who should pick which

The short version

Pick Rosebud if

  • You want an AI to ask you questions back
  • Reflection and self-understanding are the goal
  • Written privacy commitments matter most to you
  • You liked Rosebud before and the price works for you

Pick Ripple if

  • Your head is full of other people's to-dos and dates
  • You want habits tracked without opening a tracker
  • You'd rather talk and get a list back than have a chat
  • You want a weekly write-up of what actually happened
Switching

Switching from Rosebud to Ripple

Rosebud's help center says entries stay in your account and can be exported, so export first if you want a copy. You don't need your old entries for Ripple to be useful: it starts sorting from your first debrief.

For the first week, just talk about what's on your plate. By Sunday you'll see your to-do list, habit streaks, a mood line and your first weekly report, and you can judge it on that.

Looking at more than two options? See the best Rosebud alternatives or our full list of the best AI journaling apps.

FAQ

Ripple vs Rosebud: questions people ask

Is Rosebud still free?

Rosebud's help center says the free plan was retired on September 30, 2026, with entries kept and exportable. Its homepage still uses the words “free to use”, so check the app before you sign up. The Bloom plan is $12.99 a month or $107.99 a year.

Is Ripple cheaper than Rosebud?

Yes. Ripple is $9.99 a month or $89.99 a year, with a 7-day free trial. There is one plan and no free tier. Rosebud's Bloom plan is $12.99 a month or $107.99 a year.

Does Ripple talk back like Rosebud?

No. Ripple doesn't have a chat companion. It reads what you said and gives you back a to-do list, habit check-offs, mood, patterns and a weekly report.

Can I use both?

Yes, and some people would. Rosebud for reflective conversation, Ripple for the practical follow-up. Run Ripple's free week alongside and see which one you keep opening.

Is either app a replacement for therapy?

Ripple isn't, and doesn't claim to treat, diagnose or replace anything. It's a tool for getting what's in your head into order.

Say it once. Get the list back.

Try Ripple for 7 days and see what it pulls out of what you say.

Start your free week

7-day free trial · Cancel before day 7 and pay nothing