Ripple vs Reflection: an AI coach or an AI organizer?
Reflection is a guided journal with an AI coach, 100+ programs and a free plan, and its Premium price is low. Ripple doesn't coach; it takes what you say and turns it into to-dos, habit check-offs, mood, patterns and a weekly report.
Choose Reflection to be guided. Choose Ripple to be organized.
We make Ripple, so read this with that in mind. We compared the two apps using Reflection’s own website, pricing page and app store listing (checked October 21, 2026), and we say plainly where Reflection is the better pick. Prices and features change, so check Reflection’s pricing before you decide.
Reflection and Ripple, feature by feature
Reflection leads with programs and conversation. Ripple leads with what happens to your words afterwards.
| Reflection | Ripple | |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | Guided journaling programs with an AI coach, at a low price | Turning what you say into tasks and habits |
| Price | $8/month or $69/year | $9.99/month or $89.99/year |
| Free tier | Yes (Free Forever plan) | No (7-day free trial) |
| Platforms | iOS, Android, Mac, Web | iOS, Android, Web |
| Voice input | Yes: Voice with transcription, voice calls | Yes |
| Photos in entries | Yes: Photos and handwriting scan | No |
| AI chat that talks back | Yes: AI coach, “Ask Your Journal” | No: No chat companion |
| Summaries | Yes: Weekly and monthly reviews | Yes: Weekly report every Sunday |
| Mood tracking | Yes: Sentiment insights | Yes |
| Patterns | Yes: Analytics and reviews | Yes: Patterns plus Life Matrix (life areas scored over time) |
| To-dos from what you say | Not stated | Yes: To-dos with the dates you mentioned |
| Habit tracking | Not stated | Yes: Checks off habits you mention, notices skipped ones |
| Privacy, as each app states it | “Encrypted with AES-256 at rest, and TLS in transit”; entries “never used to train AI models”, “not even on our free plan” (Reflection's wording). | Entries are private to your account. We don't make encryption or AI-training claims we haven't verified. |
Checked October 21, 2026. Prices change. Sources: Reflection, Ripple. “Not stated” means we could not find it on Reflection’s own pages.
Reflection wins on guidance, price and free access
Free Forever plan
Unlimited entries, reviews and prompts at no cost. Ripple has no free tier.
Cheaper Premium
Reflection Premium is $8 a month or $69 a year, below Ripple's price.
Guided programs and a coach
100+ programs, an AI coach and “Ask Your Journal”. Ripple doesn't guide or chat.
More ways in
Photos, handwriting scans, voice calls, and apps for Mac and web as well as phones.
Ripple wins when the problem is too much to track
Your to-do list, built from what you said
Dates included. Reflection's pages don't mention tasks.
Habits without a tracker
Mention it and it's checked off; skip it and Ripple notices. Reflection's pages don't mention habit tracking.
Life Matrix
Your life areas, like work, family and health, scored over time, so you can see what's getting attention and what isn't.
No program to follow
Some weeks you don't want a lesson. You just want it out of your head and sorted.
The short version
Pick Reflection if
- You want guided programs and a coach
- You want a free plan or the lowest paid price
- You like adding photos or scanning handwriting
- You journal on a Mac
Pick Ripple if
- You need your tasks and dates caught for you
- You want habits tracked from what you say
- You'd rather talk freely than follow a program
- You want a weekly report of your actual week
Switching from Reflection to Ripple
Reflection's free plan means you don't have to cancel anything to try Ripple. Keep your history there.
Use Ripple for a week for the practical stuff: errands, plans, the habit you keep meaning to restart. Then compare how much of it got done.
Looking at more than two options? See the best Reflection alternatives or our full list of the best AI journaling apps.
Ripple vs Reflection: questions people ask
Is Reflection free?
Yes, Reflection has a Free Forever plan with unlimited entries. Premium is $8 a month or $5.75 a month billed annually, with a 7-day free trial.
Is Ripple more expensive than Reflection?
Yes. Ripple is $9.99 a month or $89.99 a year, with a 7-day free trial. There is one plan and no free tier. Reflection Premium costs less and Reflection has a free plan.
Does Reflection track tasks or habits?
We didn't find task extraction or habit tracking on Reflection's own pages. It focuses on prompts, programs, an AI coach and reviews.
Does Ripple have an AI coach?
No. Ripple doesn't chat or coach. It reads your entries and gives back to-dos, habits, mood, patterns, a Life Matrix and a weekly report.
Other apps people compare with Ripple
- Ripple vs RosebudRosebud talks back and remembers. Ripple turns what you say into tasks and habits.
- Ripple vs MindseraMindsera helps you think through ideas. Ripple keeps track of what you said you'd do.
- Ripple vs Day OneDay One keeps a beautiful record of your life. Ripple acts on what you said this week.
- Ripple vs DayoraDayora is free and conversational. Ripple is paid and turns talk into tasks and habits.
- Ripple vs DaylioDaylio is two-tap mood logging. Ripple reads your words for tasks, habits and the why.
- Ripple vs FinchFinch makes self-care a game. Ripple keeps track of everything you're carrying.
Get it out of your head and into a plan.
Try Ripple for 7 days alongside Reflection and see which you need more.
Start your free week7-day free trial · Cancel before day 7 and pay nothing