Ripple vs Stoic: which journal app suits you?
Stoic is an all-in-one routine app: guided journaling, mood, habits, a planner, meditation and breathing, on almost every platform. Ripple does fewer things and does them for you: you talk, and it fills in your to-do list, checks off habits and writes your weekly report.
If you like a structured routine, Stoic is a strong pick. If you'd rather not fill in a planner at all, Ripple is built for that.
We make Ripple, so read this with that in mind. We compared the two apps using Stoic’s own website, pricing page and app store listing (checked October 21, 2026), and we say plainly where Stoic is the better pick. Prices and features change, so check Stoic’s pricing before you decide.
Stoic and Ripple, feature by feature
Both apps track mood and habits. The difference is who does the filling in.
| Stoic | Ripple | |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | Morning and evening routines that mix journaling, mood, habits and meditation | Turning what you say into tasks and habits |
| Price | See app store (tiers not labelled) | $9.99/month or $89.99/year |
| Free tier | Free download; paid tiers | No (7-day free trial) |
| Platforms | iOS, Android, Mac, Web | iOS, Android, Web |
| Voice input | Yes: Voice notes | Yes |
| Photos in entries | Yes: Photos and video | No |
| AI chat that talks back | Not stated | No: No chat companion |
| Summaries | Yes: AI reflections | Yes: Weekly report every Sunday |
| Mood tracking | Yes: Mood trends | Yes |
| Patterns | Partly: Mood trends | Yes: Patterns plus Life Matrix (life areas scored over time) |
| To-dos from what you say | No: Has a planner and to-do list you fill in yourself | Yes: To-dos with the dates you mentioned |
| Habit tracking | Yes: Habits, streaks and badges | Yes: Checks off habits you mention, notices skipped ones |
| Privacy, as each app states it | Journals “securely stored on your devices… nobody can access them but you” (Stoic's wording). | Entries are private to your account. We don't make encryption or AI-training claims we haven't verified. |
Checked October 21, 2026. Prices change. Sources: Stoic, Ripple. “Not stated” means we could not find it on Stoic’s own pages.
Stoic wins on range and structure
Routines with structure
Guided morning and evening journaling for people who like a set format.
Meditation and breathing
Stoic includes them. Ripple doesn't.
Photos and video
Stoic accepts photos and video in entries. Ripple doesn't.
Lifetime option
The App Store lists a $299 lifetime purchase, along with Premium and AI tiers.
Ripple wins on doing the admin for you
The list fills itself
Stoic has a planner and to-do list you fill in. Ripple builds your list from what you said, with dates.
Habits checked off by voice
Mention it and it's done. Skip it and Ripple notices.
No fixed routine
Talk whenever something's on your mind. There's no set format to keep up.
One simple plan
$9.99 a month or $89.99 a year, with everything in.
The short version
Pick Stoic if
- You want a guided daily routine
- Meditation and breathing in the same app appeals
- You want photos and video in entries
- You'd like a lifetime purchase option
Pick Ripple if
- Filling in planners is the step you skip
- You want tasks pulled out of what you say
- You'd rather talk freely than follow a template
- You want one plan with everything included
Switching from Stoic to Ripple
Stoic keeps journals on your device. If you move, keep your Stoic data where it is; Ripple doesn't need it to get going.
For a week, skip the planner and just talk Ripple through your day. See if the list it builds is the one you would have written.
Looking at more than two options? See our full list of the best AI journaling apps.
Ripple vs Stoic: questions people ask
How much does Stoic cost?
Stoic is free to download. The App Store lists Premium from $6.99 to $39.99, an AI tier from $12.99 to $99.99, and a $299 lifetime option.
How much is Ripple?
Ripple is $9.99 a month or $89.99 a year, with a 7-day free trial. There is one plan and no free tier.
Does Stoic pull tasks out of entries?
Stoic has a planner and to-do list. We didn't find anything on its pages saying it creates tasks from your entries.
Does Ripple include meditation?
No. Ripple focuses on your to-dos, habits, mood, patterns, Life Matrix and weekly report.
Other apps people compare with Ripple
- Ripple vs RosebudRosebud talks back and remembers. Ripple turns what you say into tasks and habits.
- Ripple vs MindseraMindsera helps you think through ideas. Ripple keeps track of what you said you'd do.
- Ripple vs ReflectionReflection guides you with programs and a coach. Ripple organizes what you already said.
- Ripple vs Day OneDay One keeps a beautiful record of your life. Ripple acts on what you said this week.
- Ripple vs DayoraDayora is free and conversational. Ripple is paid and turns talk into tasks and habits.
- Ripple vs DaylioDaylio is two-tap mood logging. Ripple reads your words for tasks, habits and the why.
Skip the planner. Just say it.
Try Ripple for 7 days and let it build your list.
Start your free week7-day free trial · Cancel before day 7 and pay nothing